International cooking for the youthful malcontent.

On Vacation

For the next two weeks, I’ll be vacationing in France. I’ve been somewhat lax in updating the blog in the last few months, but I promise posts about my trip, and much more food in the Fall.

As the food and stories on this blog may suggest, Europe has never been a strong interest for me. I had somewhat resigned myself to never visiting, but my parents are kind and generous enough to sponsor a family trip (my lovely girlfriend included). We are renting a villa in Provence and since we are a food-oriented family (my brother does some occasional catering and maintains his own vegetable garden, and my sister works at a restaurant and once attempted to enroll in culinary classes / has the knives to prove it) occupying a villa (with full kitchen and outdoor charcoal bbq) in a land known for top-quality ingredients… well, we are planning a special kind of food vacation. Expect pictures upon my return, and maybe even some regional French recipes. Don’t count on that, though, unless it becomes some sort of French-Indian fusion.

Although European cooking is not my favourite, I do have an incredible weakness for pastries, breads and other baked goods. In the homeland of baguettes, pain au chocolat, and crepes, I will probably gain several pounds quickly. In fact, it’s written into my trip planner.

The photo above is an imagined construction of myself, embracing my inner Frenchman.

See you soon.

One response

  1. Have a lovely vacation! France in the summer is magnificent – try the super ripe peaches. I can’t wait to read all about your trip.

    Reena

    ps love the photo – you’ll blend right in.

    August 14, 2010 at 1:34 am

Leave a Reply

